How to secretly view Linkedin profiles

how to secretly view Linkedin profilesHave you ever needed to stalk someone’s Linkedin profile without them knowing? Well, there is a way to secretly view Linkedin profiles and it’s easy to do too!

Private Mode – Linkedin Account

If you switch your Linkedin account to private mode, your details won’t show up on their profile.  Instead, when they look in their ‘who’s viewed your profile’ section, your name and other contact details will not be displayed.

All they will see is ‘Linkedin member – this person is viewing profiles in private mode’; nothing more, nothing less. They won’t be able to find out any other information about you!

You should also be aware that some professional Linkedin members such as recruiters and HR professionals opt to use private mode to secretly view Linkedin profiles of potential candidates.  Likewise, business people tend to use private mode to seek sales leads, prospective clients, vendors, suppliers or business partners.

Semi-Private Mode – Linkedin Account

You can also view Linkedin profiles in semi-private mode too, although I am not sure why you’d want to do this.  You either want to secretly view Linkedin profiles, or not!

However, if for whatever reason you feel the need to browse Linkedin profiles in semi-private mode then only your key details such as your job title, company or school and industry will be accessible to them or, you may opt to display your name and headline details only.

It’s a bit of teaser really, isn’t it?

How to semi-secretly or secretly view Linkedin profiles from a desktop

  1. Locate your profile photo in the top right of your homepage and click Privacy & Settings.
  2. Select the Privacy tab at the top of the page.
  3. Under the Profile privacy section, click Change next to Profile viewing options.
  4. Click the mode you’d like to browse in. You have three options:
    • Your name and headline
    • Private profile characteristics
    • Private mode

How to semi-secretly or secretly view Linkedin profiles from an Apple or Android device

  1. Click the Me tab in the navigation bar.
  2. Click the Settings icon in the top right.
  3. Click the Privacy tab.
  4. Click Profile viewing options.
  5. Click the mode you’d like to browse in.

Blocking people from viewing your Linkedin profile in private mode.

Sorry, there is currently no way to block people from viewing your Linkedin profile in private mode just as there is no feature to force them to reveal themselves, So, just as you may want to secretly view Linkedin profiles, others may have the same idea too.

Account restrictions to secretly view Linkedin profiles

As you’d expect, there are some restrictions applied by Linkedin to try to encourage you to upgrade and who can blame them?

In short, the account restrictions are:

BASIC ACCOUNT: If you have a free account and switch to browsing in private mode, there is a catch! It’s nothing major but worth knowing, you won’t be able to see who has viewed your Linkedin profile when you browse in private mode.

So, don’t forget to switch back to standard mode when you’ve finished.

PREMIUM ACCOUNT: If you hand over some pennies to Linkedin and hold any of their premium accounts, the viewing restriction is lifted when you browse in private mode.  When you have a paid-for Linkedin account, you can view the names of people who have viewed your profile in the last 90 days.

However, due to privacy reasons, you won’t be able to see the names of people who have looked at your own profile in privacy mode which is fair enough really.

What if you can’t see your ‘who’s viewed your profile’ history?

Don’t panic if you can’t see your who’s viewed your profile history, it’s probably a settings issue that is easily rectified. If you only have a basic, free Linkedin account and do not opt to display your own name and profile, the option to view your own viewer history is removed.

All you need to do is change your privacy settings to show your name and headline.  At that point, you’ll be able to see the 5 most recent viewers of your profile in the past 90 days.  The next time someone looks at your profile, the history is erased and begins again from scratch.

How to always access your 90-day history.

If you only have a basic, free account and always want to see your 90-day history, opt to show your name and headline at all times.  Alternatively, you will need to upgrade your account.

 

Have you seen our range of Linkedin services?

How to secretly view Linkedin profiles